Planning Commission Meeting
Feb 04, 2019
The Planning Commission will meet Monday, Febru...READ MORE »

Ad Hoc Non Metallic Mining Committee Meeting
Jan 23, 2019
There will be a meeting on Wednesday, January 2...READ MORE »

Town Board Meeting
Jan 21, 2019
The Town Board meeting will be held on Monday, ...READ MORE »


Home : Plan Commission > Plan Commission Minutes

Selected Plan Commission Minutes
Planning Commission Minutes
Oct 01, 2018


Planning Commission – October 1, 2018

Town of Caledonia, Waupaca County, Wisconsin

Commissioners present: Helen Adams, Bill Fitzpatrick, Ivan Gruetzmacher, Kimberly Miller, Marv Schneider

Also present: Paula Pagel (Town Chairperson), James Leland, Nanette Leland, Aaron Ritchie, Adam Schraeder

Commissioner Marv Schneider called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. and noted that the required public notice for the meeting was posted. Helen Adams requested that an update on the Ad Hoc Committee on Frac Sand be added to the agenda under New Business, and commissioners agreed. The revised agenda was approved 4-0. The minutes of the September 11, 2018 Planning Commission were approved 4-0.

Mukwa, LLC CSM

Surveyor Adam Schraeder appeared to explain a certified survey map (CSM) for Mukwa LLC owner, Michael Polaski. The Mukwa LLC CSM documents a boundary change for Lot 1 that adds 100 feet to its east boundary. The 100 feet was purchased from Doug Hildebrandt and Barb Wildhagen, and the change has been recorded on the deed. The Mukwa LLC CSM depicts that public road access for Lot 1 is from Seefeld Road via Outlot 1, which is owned by Mukwa LLC. The CSM presented by Adam Schraeder has not as yet been assigned a number by the county.

Ivan Gruetzmacher moved to recommend to the Town Board approval of the Mukwa LLC certified survey map as presented. Kim Miller seconded. Motion approved 4-0.

Zoning Map Amendment, County Road W (James & Nanette Leland)

The Leland’s applied for a zoning map amendment on an eleven acre parcel (02-36-44-2). The parcel is currently zoned Ag Retention (AR), but the Leland’s are asking to amend the zoning to Rural Residential (RR).The Town’s Preferred Land Use Map shows the parcel as Rural Residential. Because the Planning and Zoning Committee is extremely busy, Waupaca County Zoning Administrator Jason Snyder extended the Leland’s applications’ viability from 45 days to the end of November for the zoning change and the conditional use permit request.

Marv Schneider moved to recommend to the Town Board approval of amending the zoning map on the eleven acre parcel (02-36-44-2) from Ag Retention to Rural Residential. Motion seconded by Helen Adams.  Motion approved 4-0.

Conditional Use Permit, County Road W (James & Nanette Leland)

The Leland’s applied for a Conditional Use Permit (CUP) to continue agricultural practices on their eleven acre parcel on which they requested a Zoning Map Amendment from Ag Retention to Rural Residential. Agricultural practices in a Rural Residential district require a CUP. According to county officials, one conditional use permit on the parent parcel (02-36-44-2) can be used for the three parcels proposed by the Leland’s.

Kim Miller moved to recommend to the Town Board approval for a conditional use permit on the eleven acre parcel (02-36-44-2) currently in the process of being changed from Ag Retention to Rural Residential. The CUP will allow agricultural practices including planting, harvesting, and hay production but with no grazing or animal use. Motion seconded by Ivan Gruetzmacher.  Motion approved 4-0.

Certified Survey Map, County Road W (James & Nanette Leland)

The Leland’s presented a certified survey map to divide their eleven acre parcel (02-36-44-2) into three parcels. All parcels have direct access to a public road. Lot 1will use the current agricultural driveway off County Highway W; and Lots 2 and 3 will also have access from County Highway W using a new ag driveway for which the Leland’s received permission from the Waupaca County Highway Department.

Ivan Gruetzmacher moved to recommend to the Town Board approval of the Leland CSM for a land division of the eleven acre parcel (02-36-44-2) into three parcels of 2.999, 2.952, and 5.009 acres respectively. Per the Waupaca County Planning and Zoning Department, Lots 1, 2, and 3 are covered by a single conditional use permit on the parent parcel, and the CUP requirements remain with the land. Motion seconded by Kim Miller.  Motion approved 5-0.

New Business: Update on the Ad Hoc Committee on Frac Sand

Two Planning Commission members, Marv Schneider, Planning Commission chairperson and a member of the committee that wrote Waupaca County’s Non-Metallic Mining Ordinance, and Helen Adams, Planning Commission member and resident, were appointed by the Town Board to the new Ad Hoc Committee on Frac Sand. They updated other commissioners on the committee’s membership and charter of responsibilities.The first meeting will be held on October 23 with recommendations going to the Town Board in May 2019. The information gained by the committee will inform the revision of the non-metallic mining section of the Town’s Comprehensive Plan.

The meeting adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

Action Items from the October meeting

  • Commissioners will continue to use the zoning map and the draft future land use map to determine whether less than 5 acre parcels should be designated as a residential district or an agricultural district. Commissioners should consider the rationale for retaining Rural Residential-designated parcels when they are surrounded by agricultural land.

  • Commissioners will review parcels in the proposed preferred land use map designated Hamlet (Readfield) to determine areas to be designated residential and commercial.

  • Commissioners should review chapter 4 of the Comprehensive Plan in preparation for discussion during an upcoming meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

Helen R.  Adams, Recording Secretary

Upcoming meetings – 5:30 p.m. at Readfield Elementary School

November 5, 2018

December 3, 2018

January 7, 2019

Archive View all from: 2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 2011 2010